Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts |

NC Department of Health and Human Services
Women's and Children's Health Home
N.C. Public Health Home
 
 
North Carolina Immunization Branch

School

North Carolina law requires all children in the state to receive certain immunizations.  Records are checked when children enter school or child care. Information in this section is categorized according to school or grade level.

Immunization Deadlines for Back to School Temporarily Extended

Executive Order 172, dated October 30, 2020, provides an extension to North Carolina’s proof-of-immunization requirement deadlines for students enrolled in public, private or religious educational institutions, including childcare facilities, K-12 schools, and colleges and universities.

North Carolina G.S. 130A-155(a) requires proof of required immunizations within 30 days of the first date of attendance of school. The requirements to submit a certification of immunization and a school health assessment will be reinstated on December 1, 2020. The 30-day grace period will end December 30, 2020, or 30 calendar days from the child’s first date of attendance, whichever is later, after which point a student would have to be excluded from in-person and remote learning until compliant with requirements. Schools will have until February 1, 2021 to file annual immunization reports.

While it is critically important that children are vaccinated and heath care settings are low risk, this extension was made due to ongoing concerns and reports that students and families are experiencing continued barriers to completing immunization and school health assessment requirements as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The new orders issued today provide additional time for families. This extension grants all of us the pressing opportunity to continue our work together to get children and adolescents caught up on vaccinations and well child checks as soon as possible.

The immunization requirements apply to all children in North Carolina, regardless of the type of school setting, whether children are home-schooled or attend school in-person or by remote learning, they are required by state law to be immunized based on their age for certain vaccinations as recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Families are strongly encouraged to obtain the appropriate immunizations on a timely basis. The temporary extension of immunization deadlines will provide needed flexibility for families and immunization providers to work together to ensure that all children in North Carolina are properly protected against all vaccine-preventable diseases during the 2020-21 school year.

If a certificate of immunization is not presented by October 1, 2020 (or the child’s first date of attendance if after October 1), the principal or operator shall give a notice of deficiency to the parent, guardian, or responsible person. The parent, guardian or responsible person shall then have 30 calendar days to obtain the required immunization(s) for the child.

If a child or adolescent does not have the appropriate documentation after 30 calendar days, the student shall be excluded from school (including in-person and remote learning) until compliant with the requirements.

Immunizations required for entry into Kindergarten, 7th grade and 12th grade, can be found at the following link: K-12.

Effective August 1, 2020, a booster dose of Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MenACWY) to protect against meningococcal disease is required for all students entering the 12th grade or by 17 years of age, whichever comes first.

K-12

Find out what vaccines children need by the time they enter kindergarten, 7th grade, and 12th grade.

Colleges and Universities

Find out what vaccine individuals need by the time they enter a college or university in North Carolina.

Annual Immunization Reports

Every year, all public, private, charter and federal schools are required to report the immunization status of their students. Reporting forms for K-12 schools and college and universities can be found here.

Resources for Schools

Resources for schools to use in promoting and educating students and parents on vaccine-preventable diseases can be found here.  Materials needed to comply with Garrett’s Law can also be found here.

 

 


NCDHHS


Updated: December 4, 2020