Skip all navigation Skip to page navigation

DHHS Home | A-Z Site Map | Divisions | About Us | Contacts | En Español

 
NC Department of Health and Human Services
Women's and Children's Health Home
N.C. Public Health Home
 
 
North Carolina Immunization Branch

Colleges and Universities

North Carolina law requires individuals attending a college or university, whether public, private or religious, to receive certain immunizations.  The registrar of the college or university is responsible for assuring the required immunizations have been received by all new (undergraduate and graduate) students enrolling in college each fall.  The statute applies to all students except students residing off-campus and registering for any combination of:

  • Off-campus courses
  • Evening courses (classes beginning after 5 p.m.)
  • Weekend courses
  • No more than four day credit hours in on-campus courses

If at anytime the above student status changes to: on-campus courses, course load of more than four (4) credit hours, on-campus residence, and/or enrollment in day-time courses, a Certificate of Immunization or record of immunization must be presented on or before the date the person first registers for a quarter or semester.

Colleges and Universities

Vaccine Number Doses Required Before School Entry*
Diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis 3 doses*
Polio 3 doses*
Measles 2 doses*
Mumps 2 doses*
Rubella 1 dose*
Hepatitis B (Hep B) 3 doses*

Diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis

Three doses. One must have been within the past 10 years.  Those individuals enrolling in college or university for the first time on or after July 1, 2008 must have had three doses of tetanus/diphtheria toxoid and a booster dose of tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine if a tetanus/diphtheria toxoid or tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine has not been administered within the past 10 years.

Polio

An individual attending school who has attained his or her 18th birthday is not required to receive polio vaccine.

Measles

Measles vaccines are not required if any of the following occur: Diagnoses of disease prior to January 1, 1994; an individual who has been documented by serological testing to have a protective antibody titer against measles; or an individual born prior to 1957. An individual who enrolled in a college or university for the first time before July 1, 1994 is not required to have a second dose of measles vaccine.

Mumps

Mumps vaccine is not required if any of the following occur: an individual who has been documented by serological testing to have a protective antibody titer against mumps; an individual born prior to 1957; or an individual enrolled in a college or university for the first time before July 1, 1994. An individual entering a college or university prior to July 1, 2008 is not required to receive a second dose of mumps vaccine.

Rubella

Rubella vaccine is not required if any of the following occur: 50 years of age or older; an individual is enrolled in a college or university before February 1, 1989 and after their 30th birthday; an individual who has been documented by serological testing to have a protective antibody titer against rubella.

Hepatitis B

Hepatitis B vaccine is not required if an individual was born before July 1, 1994.

Required vs. Recommended

North Carolina law requires individuals attending college or universities to receive certain vaccines. But in order to be fully protected from vaccine-preventable diseases, individuals should receive all immunizations recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Vaccines to protect against the flu, meningitis, HPV and others are available. Learn more on the Immunizations for Adults page.

Resources

return to top